pesto, tomato and mozzarella pizza

Posted on April 13, 2012

0




Apparently I should have turned on several more lights in my kitchen so that these pictures didn’t look like total crap – but you live and you learn, right? Right.

The other night I got home in time to be productive before getting too tired to focus on anything I made mac n’ cheese and a double recipe of pizza dough. I love how easy it is to throw together for a quick supper when there are a bunch of other things I need to get done.

Here is how my night went:

6:34 walk in the door

6:35 wash hands a few times, preheat oven

6:38 pull all ingredients from fridge, chop up mozz and tomato

6:40 put pizza in oven

7:00 eat pizza

SO QUICK!

PIZZA DOUGH

(I used the Pioneer Woman’s recipe from her cookbook)

1 tsp yeast
1.5 c warm water
4 c flour
1 tsp salt
1/3 c olive oil

Mix flour and salt in kitchenaid stand mixer – by hand or on low speed.

In a separate bowl mix yeast with warm water, gently combine.

Add oil to flour mixture. Mix until combined.

Add yeast/water to flour mixture, until it becomes a ball – or start kneading by hand at this point (which I sometimes do) and make into a ball.

Drizzle olive oil into stand mixer bowl, and make sure all dough is covered with oil (turn it around in the bowl a few times) cover the bowl with damp tea towel, and let it sit in a warm place (which for me was near the baking mac n’ cheese) after 1-2 hours it will be ready to stick in ziploc bags or plastic wrap, I put one in the fridge for the following day’s dinner, and one in the freezer for a day I forget to go shopping and need to make supper…

i really want a ROUND pan to make pizzas on. REALLYREALLY want one.

This dough makes a good thin crust pizza. Drizzle a little bit of olive oil on the cookie sheet or whatever you are going to bake it on, and I think this would have been better to start stretching if it were room temperature… I think it would have been less of a fight to make it stay in the shape I wanted…

I prebaked it a teeny bit (3 mins?) at 425 degrees so that the pesto wouldn’t turn the dough into a sloppy mess. Which proved to be a good choice, I think.

TOPPINGS:

1 medium tomato, sliced thin
1/2 c pesto (which has been frozen for a while, I made it from the very last share from the CSA), defrosted
1 ball mozzarella, sliced thin

I put the pesto on, and tried to smooth it out as much as possible. I almost added a little more grated romano cheese to the pesto to add a little sharper taste, which it turns out I probably should have done not just thought about…

toppings

I layered the tomatoes and then mozzarella trying to get the best coverage possible. A little ball of mozzarella did the job (6 oz? maybe smaller?) but I really should have had either two medium tomatoes or a small and a large, not just one medium, cause even slicing it as thin as possible, it was less than I wanted to end up with.

Bake at 425 for about 20 mins, you can tell by the crust and the mozzarella that the pizza is done. Let it cool a very few minutes – if you are starving, like we were, you can cut it and then let it cool a little more sliced. It was tasty, but next time I will definitely add a little more tomato and a little more romano cheese to pesto for a better contrast to the simple tasting mozzarella and tomato.

this doesn't look so appetizing in this light... but it was good, I swear!

