Waste not. Want not.

Posted on March 25, 2012

0



I am almost tempted to pull out the slow cooker, as it is Sunday, and I aim to be as lazy and useless as feasable. I have already failed to do three things I said I would do, play with a dog/let the dog sleep on me for about an hour, and started (only just started a load of laundry) but we have so many leftovers in the fridge that I think I’d be doing myself a HUGE disservice by not attending to those before adding anything else into the mix.

I’ve been thinking that I should start getting better at doing a leftover re-mix like my parents used to do. It obviously saves money, is less wasteful, and in the end means that you have to take out the trash less often (which I’m a huge fan of…) I did a little looking around and I found a few resources that I probably could have used a little while ago – better late than never, I guess.

Love Food. Hate Waste. A cool website where you can click on the things you want to use up in your pantry, or fridge and see a bunch of different recipes you can try out. They range in origin, and some are even vegan. Definitely a good place to start if you are all too often staring into the abyss that is your fridge and feel overwhelmed at the responsibility of making leftovers or excess foods taste delicious.

Left Over Chef is more of a search engine version of how to get to use up your items. I sometimes find these websites a little less user friendly than I prefer, but worth a shot.

Forkable also has amazing ideas for simple meals to throw together on a busy night. The pictures are REALLY good, and the recipes look amazing and tasty – I have only scratched the surface of this blog, but I’m giddy at what I might find if I spend a little more time reading it.

Or, if you are looking to have leftovers to take to work the next day, there are about a million things you can find on the inter-webs that are good to make then serve cold, or store easily to bring for lunch the next day – cause I don’t know how you feel, but dayum! $10/day for lunch? Ridiculous. I’m not down with that.  I know what I like to bring as leftovers, but if I’m ever stuck for ideas, I do a search for “food blog, leftovers for lunch” and usually come up with something along the lines of this for some brainstorming, or new ideas.

I know some people are really not “into” eating old food, or food they’ve already tasted the night before, or earlier that day. But I’m not all that picky. I really just like to eat, and if I’ve liked it enough to eat it for a meal earlier – I’ll eat it again, and maybe a third time… This rule however hardly ever applies to anything from the ocean. I just can’t do it. Unless I’m totally sure it’s really totally FULLY cooked the first time and am eating it just HOURS afterwards. Fish has a tendency to scare me a little too often…

Last night we ordered Indian food, cause I was tired, feeling totally unmotivated to cook, or even think of going food shopping (which lately seems like a MUCH bigger chore than it ever has before…) and so $30 bucks later we had a variety of foods to choose from.

I just heated them up for lunch, chopping the tandori chicken, lamb, and chicken drums up and then warming the MASSIVE AMOUNT of basmati rice in a pan with a bunch of water and a teensy bit of butter (some people say this rice doesn’t reheat well, but I disagree. It doesn’t do well in the microwave, but very few starches do, in my opinion – especially if you are re-heating something)  on med-high heat until it sizzles a little bit. It wasn’t bad. It wasn’t great, but it was warm, and filling – it also made the $30 stretch for two people over two days, which makes me feel a little better about wasting money on delivery.

