buffalo chicken wings and habañero burgers

Posted on January 17, 2012

0



A quick meal that has gone over pretty well here in the past is a burger and chicken wing or drumettes combination.

It’s a nice quick meal, and though I have tried a few different recipes for each, I think I’ve recently found the best combination.

I made some nice spicy wings fashioned after some wings made by a NYC eatery which I found online. They were ok, but a bit wet, and I have been wanting something that bakes and is juicy on the inside, but a bit crisp on the outside.

NY wings
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
10 chicken wings
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup hot sauce
1 dash ground black pepper
1 dash garlic powder

Mix dry ingredients, coat wings (in the future I would probably leave them in fridge for an hour or so) and bake at about 375F until baked through and crispy.

Warm up in a little saucepan: butter, hot sauce, pepper, and garlic..cover wings with sauce (I wish they had noted to let the wings cool completely before pouring sauce on them, cause the flour mixture totally fell off the skin with the weight of the sauce…

Currently the favorite is a cop out, as far as I’m concerned. Quickly coating wings with a pre packaged seasoning mix doesn’t count as “cooking” for me, but every once in a while, I feel I need as much help as I can to get everything done! Ive used it a few times now, and since they were marked down to 50% off (about $0.40/ea!) the other day at Shaw’s, that’s what I’ll be using for the next little while.

I recently bought myself a little griddle/grill that sits across two gas burners on the cooktop. It has worked well for steak tips, grilled cheeses, pancakes and eggs so far. I used it to make a few different kinds of burgers as well.

I bought Cabot habañero cheese, which I tried stuffing some burgers with, it really didn’t taste too hot. I think I would’ve been better off melting some of this cheese on top, cause once it cooked with the burgers the cheese started to taste a little rubbery…

I prefer to make (and more importantly, eat) jalapeño and cheddar cheese burgers. Ive had a medium size bag of jalapeños and possibly other kinds of spicy peppers in the freezer from the CSA this past summer. Once you rinse the pepper with room temp water, it’s thawed enough to chop up. I took sharp cheddar and chopped it up really small, and then took my (salt and peppered) ground beef, and mixed it all together. These not only smelled better while cooking (something about habañero cheese melting is just nasty!) but had a better flavor and accommodated condiments much better too.

