Peanut Butter Cookies

Posted on January 16, 2012

0




I was making bread tonight, to have for sandwiches and to eat with my beef stew for dinner, and my boyfriend came out into the kitchen and asked if I was making peanut butter cookies. I said no, but that I could, once the oven was free for a few minutes.

I then googled “best peanut butter cookies ever” which was kicked back to me as “DID YOU MEAN: best peanut butter cookies ever chewy?” which was confusing and didn’t even really make sense, but I clicked on one of the links and made these cookies based off two of the recipes I found.

this is what went into the cookies

1 stick butter
1 c crunchy peanut butter
3/4 c white sugar
1/2 c light brown sugar
splash of milk (no more than a tablespoon or so)
1 lg egg
1 tspn vanilla extract
1.25 c all-purpose flour
3/4 tspn baking soda
1/2 tspn baking powder
1/4 salt

Using my stand mixer (which got quite the workout tonight), I put a stick of warm butter and an entire (16.3 ish oz) jar of peanut butter (crunchy) in and let it get a little creamy.

Add both kinds of sugar until it getts a bit fluffy in texture. Peanut butter probably shouldn’t be mixed at a much higher speed than 2 this dough gets REAL thick.

Add wet ingredients.

Add dry ingredients – try not to answer the phone while you are adding the flour using a 1/4 c measuring cup, because you could easily spend the next 5 mins mixing it and hoping that you didn’t add too much, or too little, and wondering what it will really supposed to look like….

all mixed together

I separated the dough into four large balls, and then made golf ball (or a bit larger?) size balls of dough. Rolled them on a plate of white sugar to coat them.

I put them on parchment paper* on a couple baking sheets, pressed them with a fork cause that is what my mum always did when she made peanut butter cookies… I actually didn’t realize I was pressing them until I was almost done with all of them!

I cooked them for about 12 minutes (no longer, cause they looked like the sides would get hard if they spent anymore time in there! I let them sit for about 5 minutes, then transferred them to cooling racks until they were cool enough to pack away.

*Parchment paper not only makes it easier to clean up the baking sheets when you are done cooking, but it also makes them easy to store in a tupperware container by cutting the sheets of paper to separate layers of cookies. 

Posted in: dessert, sauce/dip