Prep and banana bread

Posted on January 12, 2012

0




The other day I got home from work, and after a long day of lugging crap up flights of stairs I wasn’t really interested in doing much of any cooking.

I had two tomatoes sitting on the counter willing me to use them before they went bad! After trying to ignore them several times in and out of the kitchen, I decided to do the least wasteful (quickest) thing, and make them into pizza sauce.

pizza sauce looks like this before you stick it in the food processor

One can of tom paste and a few spices later, I tossed a bag in the freezer and decided that I’d stared at the frozen bananas for long enough. They really aren’t all that appealing to look at all brown and frosty.*

In a food processor (I used my little 4 cup one) put these things:
1 lg clove garlic chopped in quarters
2 tomatoes chopped in 8ths
1 can tomato paste
Spices to taste

(freeze, or use immediately- I froze it, aaaaaand i like to repeat myself too…)

it sometimes looks a bit grainy to me, but the texture is sometimes smoother than it looks

I used the Joy of Cooking’s banana bread recipe, cause the book was right in front of me on the counter. Usually I try to remember to buy slightly more heart healthy butter when I am making banana breads, cause I know that my dad really likes banana bread, but this time I wasn’t all that prepared, so I just used regular old butter.

When confronted with the fact that my eggs, butter, ecc were at room temperature, and my bananas were still frozen blocks, I decided to see how well defrosting bananas would work in the microwave. I’m not sure what my hesitation was, or why I was so impressed that it worked and they didn’t explode all over the insides… You live and you learn, and sometimes you clean the microwave afterwards.

totally frozen bananas

Next time I think I’ll at least put the bananas in the fridge over night, cause 4mins on auto defrost makes the peel-able, but to room temp.

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup granulated white sugar

1 tspn baking powder

1/4 tspn baking soda

1/4 tspn salt

1 tspn ground cinnamon

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 cup butter

3 bananas, mashed (about 1-1/2 + cups)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

"wet" ingredients

Mixing wet and dry separately, then mixing together until fully combined. I used my stand mixer, because I try to get as much use outta the thing- especially seeing how much the frigging thing cost…. Make it worth the investment, and sometimes it helps lessen the amount of dishes one has to do after all the combining of this an that are done.

I used two little bread pans because I like to give away a loaf, and keep one. Grease either two 4×2 (?) or one 9×5 (?) bread pan and bake at 350F for almost an hour. Checking to see if they are done by sticking a wooden skewer or something in and if it comes out clean, you are all set!

not really sure why they bubbled up funny on the sides, they looked normal upon coming out of the oven... I have no proof though, cause we ate them without leaving time to take a picture....

Let them sit on cooling racks (or if you don’t have any, I used to pull them out of the pans and set them across the top so the bottom could cool- they usually won’t break sitting like this…)

Butter, and enjoy, or bag up and hide and then deliver to dad the next day at work.

*I guess another way to freeze bananas is to peel, chop, add a bit (less than a tspn? look it up…) of lemon juice and then you can safely stick them in an airtight container for up to 6 months!

Posted in: bread, carbs, storing food