CSA aka, community supported agriculture

Posted on November 6, 2011

0



My friend asked me what a CSA was just the other day, I realized that it might be a good idea to put a few of my thoughts, some of the basics, and some resources and lists, links up so that if anybody (specifically in the New England area) were interested they might have an easier time of finding what they wanted in a CSA.

Community Supported Agriculture is one of the best ways I’ve found to get really good local food at a price that I can afford. What you basically do, is become a “shareholder” of a farm’s crop and you submit your membership money for your share at the beginning of the season (winter/spring) and then you get a share (several pounds of food) throughout the summer into the fall (for a summer share, there are also winter CSAs, or full year shares offered from different farms).

This past winter/spring I decided that I was spending too much money for funky vegetables from the grocery store. God only knows how long it takes something to get from Chile to Somerville, and then how long has it been sitting in Somerville before I go get it and bring it home. Ew! I’d rather have a truck come from western Massachusetts on a wednesday afternoon carrying my vegetables, and I pick them up afterwork on Wednesday, go home and make dinner. So much better for my health, plus, my hard earned money stays local.

I was a little late in the game in my search for a share,  and I chose Red Fire Farm mostly because it was still available. I paid roughly $500-$600 for a full share, picking up once a week at a nearby location, and an egg share (1/2 doz eggs a week) which if you do some math, makes it really fairly affordable to eat good food. I don’t think I would do an egg share again, unless I pick up baking, or buy a freezer, cause I can’t really keep up with the abundance, and sharing a regular size fridge with so many people.

So that – after a LONG wait on the response….. is what a CSA is.

How to find one:

Go here: http://www.localharvest.org/csa/

in the right side, you’ll see a way to search for a farm in your neck of the woods that has a CSA!

Or, another way that you can do it is to google “[your area] CSA, farmshares, local vegetables” and or other combinations of those words.

A good link for people who are in Massachusetts is: http://www.nofamass.org/programs/csa/csa.php

Posted in: sauce/dip