bread!

Posted on November 6, 2011

0




As the fall is now here, though today was nice and sunny and warm, the time change is bound to mess SOMETHING up soon, I decided to use up what I had in the house to make something seasonally appropriate – also, somebody took my car without telling me, and I am essentially housebound until it comes back!

I was looking around online last night and I found a recipe for pumpkin gingerbread and I just so happened to have a little pumpkin sitting on my shelf of my pantry.

little pumpkin from last CSA share of the year

I cut it in half, roasted it until it was soft, scraped out the insides and stuck that badboy in the food processor until it was as close to puree as possible.

in one bowl I mixed:

  • 1 1/2 cups  all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

in another bowl I mixed:

  • 1 cup pumpkin purée
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar (I only had light brown sugar….)
  • 1/2 substitute for molasses (1/4 sugar + 1/4 liquid = 1 c molasses)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 3 Tbsp water

I preheated the oven to 350 degrees, and then I mixed the two bowls of ingredients together!

Greased a couple little pans, and stuck um in the oven for about 50 mins – or until you poke them with a stick and it comes out clean. I waited a few minutes and then dropped them out on a cooling rack.

While I did this, I also made a loaf of white bread, so we could have some sandwiches this week, or whatever else might include a slice of bread….

I put these things in the kitchenaid stand mixer in this order:

1 1/3 c all purpose flour
1/2 tblspn yeast
scant* tablespoon sugar

mix this up, then add:
scant tablespoon oil (or melted butter, but I am currently running out of butter…)
1 1/3 cups warm water (or warm milk, if that’s your bag…)

mix up – it will get HELLA STICKY!

then add:

2 cups of bread flour (a little bit at a time)
1/2 tablespoon of salt (table salt is fine)

take out of mixer, put on floured counter and knead. (at this point it is helpful to remember to take all rings off your hands…. because they get really cruddy if you don’t….)

put in a bowl with a wet cloth over it and let it raise for about 40 mins – hour.

(this bread was raising while the other bread was cooking...)

knead again, put in a slightly greased loaf pan, and let it raise again, just for a little while…. until when you poke it with your finger it will “puff” or “bounce” back into place…

then cook at 375 degrees for about 35 mins, or until you tap on the loaf and it sounds hollow.

* “Scant” means a little less than a full measurement….

Posted in: bread, carbs, dessert