slice. pie. wheel. za.

Posted on June 26, 2011

1



Pizza has been around forever, or at least since around 1903 in the States. (Thank you, Mr. Lombardi!)  I read somewhere that 93% of the US population has eaten pizza in the last month. That adds up to lots of pizza being consumed, acres of it in a single day!

It might be an appetizer to some, or payment for helping someone move. The only thing your kid wants to eat for dinner, or a quick and easy meal when nobody feels like cooking. Boston, in the last few years, has experienced the influx of “gourmet/specialty pizza” places and while I still enjoy a sausage/pepper/onion from the small pizza shop in our neighborhood, I’ve tried and enjoyed a calamari pizza too. I hadn’t actually made my own pizza in years though, and on a whim decided it was about time.

eggplant, tomato, and sausage

 

After picking up a few bags (read: two) of pizza dough from our local Italian bakery (cause I didn’t have any time after work to make it and let it raise… I’ll do that some other time…) I began wandering aimlessly through the grocery store, and without any clear cut ideas of what to top my pizzas with, I grabbed a whole bunch of vegetables and a few things of cheese. It really could’ve been planned better. Much better.

I decided to top the first one with eggplant, tomato and cheese, make a simple, no sauce, pizza. Much to my dismay, I found out later that some people had ‘bad experiences’ with eggplant on pizza and found it difficult to eat. Mmmm, good to know. Better to know before hand…

turn on broiler, move rack about 8-10″ away

1 small-medium sized eggplant cut into fairly thin slices (salt, then pat dry with paper towels after the water has started to drain out. I didn’t have paper towels, so I squeezed a bit of water out of them, sometimes you have to work with what you’ve got, or forgotten to buy…) then cut into quarters, or whatever ‘bite sized’ pieces you want. drizzle a little evoo on them and set aside

1/2 pint of cherry or grape tomatoes, cut in half (or quarters depending on the size), with diced garlic, and evoo

pit eggplant in oven for about 4 minutes, flip/shake around add tomatoes with garlic, cook for another 3-4 mins, shake/flip and let cook for another 2-3 mins. Let cool a little so you can touch them, try not to eat all of them while preparing the rest of the pizza…

I put a little evoo on the dough and stretched it out, tossed some hot italian sausage in a pan, butterflied it, cooked it up, then chopped it into bite sized pieces, and threw a ton of cheese on top. In the end, I was happy with how it tasted.

My friend and I recently became obsessed with a pizza we had at a nearby restaurant, I decided we should try to make it at home and see if the cost could be cut at all. When we order it out, it’s about 14-17 bucks.

Dough: $1.50
Blue Cheese: $1.28 (we used half of it)
Balsamic reduction: I always have vinegar, and we used about… a 1/4 c? Pretty cheap.
Arugula: $3?
Caramelized onions: $.80
Bacon: $3.99, only used 1/4 package…

Yup. Cheaper, and just as good.

arugula, blue cheese, bacon, balsamic reduction, onions = love!

 

A good meal. Now I just need more people to eat it, and an actual shopping list next time!

Posted in: sauce/dip