CSA!

Posted on June 12, 2011

0



First week of the CSA, and I can’t even begin to think about what food I’ll be making this summer… I was SO pumped up when I picked up my share, and brought it home. I quickly made a salad and ran out to watch the Bruins.

CSA share week 1

I still have some veggies and about 3 eggs left over, and a new bunch of goodies are in on Wednesday! Oooh! I’m very excite!

Tonight I decided to start cooking, once I got REALLY hungry. At like 2:30p, I decided I’d have to just cook an “early supper” cause there was no way that I could make anything all that quickly with what we had in the fridge. In order to use up all these vegetables in time to not be overwhelmed by next Wednesdays share, I decided to go NUTS on the veggie end of things. This is what I came up with, most of which tasted good.

Mashed Potato and Purple Kolrhabi with green onion garnish
1.5 lb (or so) of yellow potatoes from  S&S I got a little while ago
1 purple kolrhabi plant (?)

peel all root vegetables, boil – probably should have started to boil the kolrhabi before the potatoes… it takes longer to get soft enough!
when they are all finally cooked enough, i mashed them forEVER with butter and a few splashes of simply smart 2% milk.

dice up green onion and garnish

“Greens”
1 TBS butter (salted)
1 1/2 TBS EVOO
3/4 onion diced
1 green diced
1 chorizo sausage (chopped as small as possible)
2 TBS balsamic vinegar
1 bunch of kale

in a pan melt butter with oil, make onions translucent, add (SOME OTHER PORK PRODUCT! chorizo is NOT a good call…) meat, and or omit vinegar?! I’m not sure. This was the first time that I’ve made anything like this. then let kale simmer FOREVER. it ended up looking a little bit more tasty than it was…

Then I made some fried chicken. The recipe is secret. So… I can’t tell! It’s AMAZINGLY TASTY. I got a report from somebody who tried them that I should have a cook-off with their father who has been frying chicken longer than I’ve been alive, and that I might just win… WOOHOOO! This should be good.

 

final results...

Posted in: sauce/dip