left over/hump day

Posted on January 19, 2011

0



Today was a beautiful day. I walked out into the street at 6am, and I was bracing myself for a freezing wind, a ton of ice to creep down the stairs on top of, and to have to chip all kinds of ice glazed all over my car. Was I surprised or what to find out it was a balmy 30-something degrees, even with the wind coming off the Mystic. Lovely. Ice coffee in hand, I took on the world – the  7 different jobs we stopped at today. Not a bad day, all in all.

I even got off work a little bit early. I went to the shop and cleaned up and took out the trash and recycling though – it needed to be done wicked bad. So, not really early in returning home. Slightly sore, tired, and getting a little cold – the temperature has dropped severely in the past few hours!

I started to google how to make use of some more of the ham I have in my fridge, before I move on to the pea soup! My bf showed up shortly after I’d hit “I feel lucky” – holy nothin good online for ham! Stupid google. Way to not help me out. I looked at a few things that Martha Stewart did with pasta, and something else with ham from Women’s Day, and made this…

itsa good thang, casserole

4 c pasta (bowtie – it was what I could reach without a step stool)

1 c (+/-) frozen peas

2 c milk (or simply smart, cause that ish stays good forever )

2 tbs corn starch – cause i ran out of flour last night making pic crusts…

1 c (+/-) cheese – grated (i used monterey jack and cheddar, cause it was easiest to pull out of the cheese drawer…)

1 tsp seasoned salt

1 tsp dry mustard

1 1/2 c diced left over (baked) ham

1/4 c parmesean cheese (grated/shakey cheese)
Dice 1- 1 1/2 c of left over ham. Set aside.

Cook pasta until very aldente – add peas. Cook together, drain. It’s ok to let them cool down…

Trying to get simply smart to simmer and not get all gross and burned is fairly difficult. It definitely doesn’t cook like real milk. So, I tossed my “flour” in the milk and tried to make it simmer. Once it was warm enough to the touch, cause it didn’t look like it was warm enough, yet didn’t smell like it was going to be NOT burning anytime soon!

Start broiler – on high!

Remove from heat, add cheese, and whisk in. Slowly add pasta/pea combo, followed by ham, mix thoroughly.

I used a small square casserole dish that I use fairly often – I’m still never sure what size it is exactly. But, It wasn’t greased. Fill it up, and toss some grated parm cheese on top. Pop it in the oven and watch it closely, cause it might not be long before it gets all good and brown on top!

I suggest that you grab a pack of ritz crackers and crush a few up when you are eating your bowl of this “It’s a Good Thang, really” casserole – cause really, ham is salty, and tastes good with cheese – no doubt. But ritz crackers taste like, ritz crackers.

I think that simply smart is good milk – cause it hardly ever goes bad before I use it all up, but if I’m gonna be cooking with dairy products like that – it’s gonna have to have more fat in it. The food wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t fantastic.

I did not however, boil the chicken for pot pie, nor did I make banana bread – doh! Tomorrow is another day, gonna be slightly more busy after work now… greeeeaaaaat.

Posted in: sauce/dip